Ghost Mice

So I think I have a ghost. A ghost that likes cheese.

I was making nachos last night and as I was distributing the Sargento cheddar around the plate, I dropped some of it on the floor. Well, not just “some,” a lot actually. But I decided to leave it there until I was done with my dinner and my TV-watching. Three hours later, I went to wash the dishes and sweep up the pile of cheese and…it was gone. That’s right, the pile of cheese that I had spilled was completely gone. There wasn’t even a single shred of the shredded cheese left.

And no, this isn’t one of those “oh, you probably cleaned it up and you just forgot” deals. That’s simply not possible. So the only explanation is a ghost. Not just a ghost that doesn’t make any noise at all, a ghost that loves this place so much that it simply can’t float around here comfortably if there’s a mess on the floor.

My ghost is Hazel.

OK, OK, the other explanation would be a mouse. A mouse that came into the room while I was eating and watching TV and ate all the cheese on the floor. I really don’t see how it’s possible that a little mouse could eat a 1/4 bag of shredded cheese, but admittedly I’m not up to speed on the digestion habits of small rodents. Or maybe I have two mice, which is something I don’t want to think about. There’s a thin line between “I have a mouse” and “I have an infestation.”

Or maybe it’s both: Ghost Mice! Which sounds like a great idea for the next Pixar animated film, featuring the voices of Jonah Hill and Betty White! Coming summer 2013!