Introducing “The Letter”

mailmanretroI hear that print is where all the big money is these days, so I’m starting a monthly newsletter.

Actually, take the news out of that word. It will be a letter, mailed every month via snail mail, delivered to your front door by a person wearing a blue uniform! Yes, it’s 1959 all over again.

I hope mail never goes away. There’s something about getting a letter delivered to you, something you can hold in your hands, that is incredibly special, especially in this age of texting and Skype (as Andy Rooney says in the video below). I still send out thank you cards too (I’m trying to single-handedly save the USPS). We post on Facebook, text, e-mail, and IM each other all day long, so it’s good to actually get and read something in print that you can hold in your hand once in a while, isn’t it?

(Note to people in their teens and 20s: “letters” were like blog entries that you couldn’t click on. And wait until I tell you all about landline phones!)

These letters will have stuff that won’t be on this website or any place on the web. It will only be found in print. (Yes, a print letter. This is how I plan to make my millions.) Each month will have personal essays, short fiction, cartoons, recipes, and everything in between. I don’t know what I’ll be writing to you each month until I sit down to write it.

The cost is only $12.00 for the entire year. What a deal! (Note: if you ever donated money in the past, you’re already getting a year’s subscription.)

Here are all the other packages you can get:

$1.00 or more: a hearty thank you! Your donation helps keep the sites going.

***

$12.00: A one year subscription to the monthly print letter, The Letter, which will be handwritten or typed on a typewriter, folded, put in an envelope, and mailed to you, just like olden times!

***

$25.00: Everything above, plus I will send you a mystery gift: a DVD, book, or other cool collectible I have around my apartment.

***

$100.00: Everything above, plus I will call you to thank you!

***

$250.00: Everything above, plus a lifetime subscription to The Letter and a free signed copy of anything I ever publish.

***

Click on the “Donate” button on the right and start your subscription today, via PayPal or your favorite credit card. It’s all safe and secure. And don’t forget your zip code!

And thank you! Any questions, send me an e-mail or post them in the comments below.