Blerg

When you’re sick, your world gets smaller. You usually don’t go outside unless you absolutely have to, so your world is your couch and your bed, and maybe a stop in between at your computer (and even then you can probably bring your device to your bed or couch). You seem to do the same things over and over as the tissues begin to accumulate. You become a master of channel surfing and you don’t quite care if your kitchen counter stays messy for the day. Your food world gets smaller too. You usually don’t want anything heavy or anything spicy or anything cheesy. Right now I’m on a rotation of hot tea, soup (chicken noodle), and a package of Hall’s Throat/Cough drops. If it was summer I’d be eating a lot of Popsicles.

You have to be careful with the flavored teas though. The cinnamon ones too often taste like someone just took a bunch of Big Red gum sticks and boiled them. The lemon ones too often taste like Pledge. Earl Grey is good, until your third cup and you suddenly realize that you don’t even know if you’re drinking something that’s citrus-y or medicinal. So I try to stick with the usual suspects – your English Breakfast, your other regular black teas – preferably loose or a good tea bag like Twinings (don’t get me started yet again on why some companies still use staples in their tea bags – in 2013, for God’s sake). Or go with a good vanilla chai. I recommend either Big Train Vanilla Chai (which tastes a lot like my much-missed Border’s Books chai, more sweet than spicy) or Oregon Chai, something I first had at The Atomic Cafe many years ago.

I really didn’t mean to do a guide to tea. Sometimes these things just happen.

I have a theory that sickness is your body’s way of telling you to slow down. Nobody “likes” being sick – I certainly don’t – but it does sort of put your life into a sort of slow motion in a way, and you get to relax and think about things and you have a built-in excuse to stay on the couch and read and watch TV, because, hey…sick! Of course, all of that is a lot easier if you work from home (I do) and you don’t have kids to take care of (I don’t). For one hour today – between 2 and 3pm – I felt pretty good, and I thought I was getting better, on the path to feeling normal, the haze beginning to lift. But then later in the afternoon…not so much. It was like the sickness gremlins said PSYCH and got into my body again. Every time I swallow it’s like someone is in my head popping bubble wrap.

So why am I still up at midnight when I’m not feeling well? Have a great weekend!

(Post title refers to Liz Lemon’s 30 Rock catchphrase but also fits the way I feel this week.)

Have something to say?

