Old Blog 34

Notebook – November 6, 2000

And so begins week 2 of The Great Sore Throat of 2000.

Will this thing ever go away? The “sore” part, I mean, not my throat.
When I try to swallow it’s like trying to shove a banana through a
bended straw.* Except when I have ice cream. Mmmmmmm…ice cream. This
week it’s Mississippi Mud. It’s the only thing that feels good.

I feel…blah. That sore throat, stuffy head, temperature around 99-100
degreees. Not enough for worry but just enough to make me feel groggy
and type three “e’s” in degrees a few seconds ago. Yesterday it was
very rainy, very windy, and raw. Weather that screams “stay inside if
you’re sick.”

Sickness. It’s a pain in the ass, but also oddly comforting: it sort of
forces me to relax a bit, and eat ice cream while sitting on the couch
watching television. Not because of laziness, but because I HAVE to do
it. Medically.

Wow, it’s a good thing I don’t have a real job.

Tomorrow is going to be a looooooong day. It’s Election Day, and
the pundits and anchors will be on non-stop with analysis, predictions,
exit-poll results. So, a very short Notebook this week. I gotta get
some sleep. Thanks.

*Huh?

Add your thoughts:

