Indies vs. The Big Chains

Yeah, the debate continues. Tyler Cowen says that independent bookstores aren’t good for much, while Jessa says it’s a lot more nuanced than a simple indies vs. chains argument.

I’ll have more to say on this later, but right now I’m dealing with a two Advil headache. But I will say this: I went to one of my favorite bookstores in the world, an indie right near my home, looking for the new 10th Anniversary anthology book for Slate.com, and none of the employees I talked to (and we’re talking twentysomethings who probably use the web, not people in their 50s) had even heard of Slate.com. (And while we’re on the subject, I was at an indie record store recently, and the owner had never heard of Tommy Keene. What’s up with that?)

One thought on “Indies vs. The Big Chains

Add your thoughts:

