Adam Finley

I’m not sure what to say about this. My mind is a haze.

If you haven’t heard, writer and all-around good guy Adam Finley died on Thursday night. He was riding his bike a couple of blocks from his apartment in Minneapolis and was struck by a bus. He was only 30 years old.

I never thought it was possible to become truly great friends with someone that you only know via e-mail and chat, but that’s what happened with me and Adam. We got to know each other many years ago when we were both writing for Ironminds…maybe even before that. He was a contributor to Professor Barnhardt’s Journal and then I hired him a couple of years ago at TV Squad. The single best decision I ever made there. We were supposed to meet up at some point, hang out, write a book together.

It really hasn’t sunk in yet (all those cliches happen to be true). I can’t believe I’m going to turn on my computer tomorrow morning and there isn’t going to be an e-mail from Adam about something happening at TV Squad, or a link to a cool web site I might be interested in, or what Amy Sedaris is up to (many of our conversations revolved around our love for Amy). This morning I was going to mail some Dinner For Five DVDs to him but didn’t get to the post office in time.

I just went into my AIM settings to delete his name, and a little box came up on the screen that said REMOVE BUDDY, and I got a lump in my throat.

ARE YOU SURE YOU WANT TO REMOVE ADAM FINLEY?

Adam, you are missed.

***

Please take a look at some of the stuff Adam wrote over the years, including this one on jobs he’s had and Godzilla, and one on love potions 1 through 8.

Here’s the web site he created, Raise Your Children My Way Dammit, his MySpace page, and here are his posts from TV Squad and Adjab.

6 thoughts on “Adam Finley

  1. Bob, I did not know. Was there a post on TV Squad? What horrible news. Adam’s posts we’re always well-written and entertaining and he seemed like a good guy.
    Please accept my deepest sympathy.

  2. Bob, I have been meaning to email you or something. I didn’t know Adam very well, but honestly, I had something in my inbox from him every single day. And this is really such a shock.
    The weirdest thing is that I keep waiting for him to chime in on the team emails we have been having about how to remember him. His voice is conspicuously absent.

  3. I still haven’t “deleted Adam Finley” from my ichat, or cell phone, and of course, he’s the very first listing.
    Adam and I made plans to hang out Thursday September 6th, and I keep thinking that we’ve just postponed our get-together for a future date. I don’t know what it’s going to take for me to realize he’s gone.

Add your thoughts:

