And Now, The Weather

My verdict on the debate: no one will even remember it on election day.

Cool day. Not as cool (cold) as I like it, but you can really tell fall is here now. No more days that start out cool and turn into unseasonable (and unreasonable) stickiness and despair. I think this weekend I might have to go buy a new comforter and maybe even close the windows for the first time in four months. I know, I know, the people who read this site regularly probably wonder why I obsess over the weather so much. I'm not a weather geek, really. I don't even think that they should talk about the weather at the start of the newscast. Unless we're in the middle of a hurricane or a snowstorm is coming or there are locusts invading (though technically that would probably be a general news story), the weather deserves about 5 minutes about 16 minutes into the broadcast and that's it. Then move on to the sports and a wacky human interest story involving a puppy. But the reason I'm talking about the weather at this particular time is because I hate summer so much that I welcome fall more than anything in the world. I don't think there's any other seasonal transition that is so dramatic and welcome. Winter becomes spring, but it's usually pretty gradual. Fall becomes winter, but we're prepared for the cold weather by the increasingly cool temps of October and November. But when summer becomes fall and those uncomfortable temps and humidity drop, you can feel the air open up and there's a clarity in the world and in your mind you just don't get in July, August, and early September.

What I'm trying to say is I can wear pants again instead of shorts. And that's an awesome thing.

And so ends another week. Blogging all day tomorrow and over the weekend at TV Squad, but if I don't see you then I'll see you back here on Monday. Have a great weekend.

Add your thoughts:

