Coffee Overachiever

Note to shoppers at a certain convenience store in northeastern Massachusetts: I tried to save you.

The warm weather has arrived, which means I have gone from hot tea mode to cold summer drink mode. I’m not a big coffee drinker (I like it but it doesn’t like my stomach), but I find myself drinking a lot of a bottles of a certain brand of coffee-flavored drink. I think I keep my local stores in business during the warmer months by drinking so much of it during the day as I write, often walking to the convenience store down the street and walking home with 4 or 5 bottles in my hand. Last Sunday I stopped at another store before I went to the supermarket and got a bunch of large bottles. I was going to buy a small bottle too but noticed (again) that the expiration date was in early April. I took the large bottles up to the counter to pay for them and figured I’d let the clerk know about the old coffee drink bottles.

“I noticed that the small bottles of this drink are all out of date, about a month or so.”

“Yes, I remember you telling me before.”

“Oh. (Pause) I just wanted to let you know before anyone gets sick or whatever.” (Laugh)

“The vendor has to take them out. I’ll let him know about it.”

“Does he work on Sundays?”

“No, but I’ll let him know about it.”

At this point, I wanted to ask her what would happen if they got a recall notice for a drink or some food. Would they then wait until the vendor came in and took them off the shelves? “Yes, I know there are people dying from eating contaminated potato chips, but I can’t take them off the shelves because I’m not an official potato chip distributor!” Still not sure why it’s so hard to take 7 or 8 bottles of a coffee drink and just put them in the back room. I’m sure there’s a very detailed, logical explanation for it all and this person just didn’t want to get into the nitty gritty retail details. (Of course, I’m kidding – there’s absolutely no explanation that would make any sense.)

I’m going there tomorrow morning. Can’t wait to see what the status is. Maybe I’ll Twitter it.

In other food news, General Mills is in trouble for the claims on boxes of Cheerios that the cereal can help reduce your cholesterol. Now, I’ve never once bought Cheerios because it might reduce my cholesterol (though I guess that’s a great side benefit), so I’m not sure why this is causing such a stir. If doctors were suddenly skipping the Lipitor and instead writing prescriptions for Cheerios I would be concerned, but I would hope that consumers don’t look at it as medicine. Having said that, I was at the store the other day and saw these two boxes of Cheerios side by side on the shelf (sorry for the lame picture quality):

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was never very good at math in school, but can both of those claims be accurate?

Anyway, did TV Talk the other night. Podcast is here. It’s been a very busy, hectic week with a new work schedule and a leaky ceiling to deal with, so I’ve earned the junk food I’m going to eat tonight. Have a great weekend.

One thought on “Coffee Overachiever

Add your thoughts:

