Summer Night

Muggy night. It's so muggy I feel like a cranberry salesman in England. I have no idea what that means, that's how uncomfortable and dazed I am right now.

I'm having second thoughts about Professor Barnhardt's Journal already. Not if I want to keep it or not, it's here to stay. I mean I just don't know what the hell to do with it? Pop culture blog? That's all well and good, but I already cover a ton of pop culture here. Besides, having to update two blogs every day? They don't pay me enough to do that ("they" meaning me). It's three if you count the stuff I do at TV Squad, though that's a whole different thing. No, PBJ is going to stick around, but I might make it a very specific type of site. Maybe something in the form of a blog but not a blog itself. I have a few ideas kicking around in my head and all should be clearer soon. If it doesn't stay muggy, that is.

I've already changed the design of the site. Now it's…green! I liked the black and blue and white stripe design I had yesterday, but I was having a tech glitch that made the fonts on the sidebar different sizes. Doesn't make any sense to me why it would do that, but it was doing it, and it was driving me up a wall. I'm sure 91% of readers wouldn't even have noticed it, but it would have eaten away at me every single time I went to the main page, and, well, I can't have that. So now it's green and the fonts make sense.

I get in these moods with my web sites. I'm never completely happy with the design I pick. I went to a blog format several years ago because I wanted permalinks and easy-to-access archives and dates that showed up automatically and footers and headers and all that stuff, but that means the design options are limited. But even back in the mid-90s and early 00s when I did my entire site HTML by hand I could never settle on one design. Retro fonts or basic Times Roman? Lots of color or black and white? Splash page? Buttons? What color should the links be? Wide margins? Gah. I'm not anal about a lot of things but when it comes to site design I can stay up all night trying to find just the right combo of cool and whatever else makes a good web page a good web page.

I know what you're thinking: in-depth discussions of fonts and web site design decisions, that's why I come here! I know, I know. I'll talk about other things tomorrow.

Add your thoughts:

