Friday, December 11

It's a good thing I set the DVR.

The gas man came right around 9:30 and I had to go outside and tell him where I smelled the gas. This is the second time it has happened in the last few months or so. This summer I smelled gas in the same area when no one else did (one of the super powers I acquired after getting hit by lightning many years ago), and though there was no gas smell when the gas guy came, he used all of his special tools to sniff around and found that, yes, there was a slow gas leak after all. So they tore up the sidewalk and replaced…well, whatever it is that gas guys replace when they replace things. This gas smell was fleeting and I didn't smell it again (it didn't help that the entire neighborhood last night smelled like someone was burning wood or leaves so I couldn't smell anything but that), but the gas smell was fleeting a few months ago too and I didn't want to chance it.

By the way, did I tell you a house blew up a few blocks down the street earlier this year? 

Anyway, the gas guy came, used those same tools to check things out and even removed the manhole cover in the front of the house and declared everything okey-dokey.

In other news…it's Christmas! This is the week I get together all of the Christmas-oriented music that I'm going to dive into this month. Keep your Bruce Springsteens and your Beach Boys and every other rock Christmas song (OK, I'll take "Christmas Wrapping" by The Waitresses and "Jingle Bell Rock" but that's about it), I'm a traditionalist: Dean Martin, Rosemary Clooney, Perry Como, Frank Sinatra. Christmas starts for me when I listen to Martin singing "A Winter Romance." Oh, and when I start eating Ghirardelli Peppermint Bark, a special "limited edition" candy only available in the winter, by the bag. As for Christmas shopping, I haven't even started my shopping yet except for one DVD I bought, and that was online.

http://www.lala.com/external/flash/SingleSongWidget.swf

A few links. Over at the TV Squad Podcast, we interviewed Rich Sommer of Mad Men (he plays Harry Crane). Really great guy. We also talked about shows going on hiatus and the midseason shows coming up. I have a really short thing in the new issue of Esquire (the one with the Kennedys on the cover). It's the annual "Wisdom & Damn Good Advice" issue, and my contribution is on page 98. No, I'm not Sting. Look at the bottom of the page in the cable news channel-like crawl for my words of wisdom. And, as usual, I update throughout the day on Twitter.

Have a great weekend. See you Monday.

Add your thoughts:

