Roger Ebert

You probably saw Roger Ebert's appearance on Oprah today or read the terrific profile in Esquire. This got me thinking about the articles he wrote a while back for my magazine Professor Barnhardt's Journal. In the very first issue of the web mag, in October 2002, I asked several writers why they wrote. Here's Roger's answer. In light of recent events it's particularly interesting.

It was quite nice of Roger to write those essays for me at a time when he had no idea who I was or what PBJ was. I think he instantly gave the mag some credibility and I'll always be thankful to him for that.

My friend Will Leitch has a fantastic essay worth reading too, about something he did to Ebert in the past that he's now sorry he did.

Add your thoughts:

