Yesterday Was Friday, Today Is Saturday

I am obviously a terrible person.

I have promised and promised a new section, new features, and a full explanation of the donation link on the right for weeks now. And I still don’t have anything to tell you about it. Everything is still in the “thinking” stage. That will lead to the “planning” stage, which will eventually lead to the “doing” stage. It’s coming though.

Instead, let’s talk about “Friday.” The song, not the day, though I guess we’ll also be talking about the day if we’re talking about the song since the song is about the day. If you haven’t seen the video, take a look:

Much has been said about the song already: it’s annoying, the lyrics are horrid, Auto-Tune is destroying mankind as we know it, etc. But there’s one thing that hasn’t been mentioned and I think it should be: the girl’s age.

If you’re like me, when you first saw the video you thought that it was a terrible – yet sadly typical, as these things go nowadays- new song written by an 18 year-old, filmed by the girl and her friends, and then uploaded to YouTube. But then we found out that not only were the song and video produced and filmed by a team of professional producers, the girl is only 13 years old.

This changes things a bit. No, it doesn’t change the fact that the song is bad – the quality of a piece of art doesn’t get better just because we later find out that the person is younger than we thought, unless it’s a 4 year-old’s artwork on the fridge – but it does change the way we look at the entire story. If I had known she was only 13 when I first watched the video, my first, immediate reaction would have been different. There are worst songs made by bands every day.

But the age thing brings up a few other questions. This song is about partying on the weekends, and the video shows her going out on Friday nigh and meeting up at a house with a large group of friends who drive. Which leads to the first question: why is a 13 year-old getting picked up by a kid old enough to drive, and then that night going to a party with high schoolers? A party I’m going to assume includes booze and/or weed (just going by what I did when I was in high school), unless modern junior high kids and high school kids still party like Wally Cleaver and go to a drive-in after meeting the girls down at the Mayfield malt shop.

Maybe things are different now and I’m just not up on the social habits of 13 year-old girls (thank God). I’m probably just being cynical. When the kids go into the house I’m sure it’s just going to be a night filled with soda pop and Scrabble marathons. One thing the video does make very clear (at least three times) it that it seem like the decision whether or not to take the front seat or the back seat in a car does weigh on the mind of teen girls on a level I didn’t realize before.

But what do I know. Simon Cowell thinks the song is “brilliant!”

Add your thoughts:

