Monday, July 11, 2011

I’m not unsociable, but I draw the line at being touched by strangers in restrooms.

That was my Saturday, at least partly. I was in the restroom of Barnes & Noble, washing my hands at the sink, and a guy comes in and uses the urinal. After doing his thing he comes over to the sink and rinses his hands quickly under the water. Now, I have to give him points for actually coming over the sink at all – you’d be amazed at how many guys don’t wash their hands at all – but they put soap in the bathroom for a reason.

Anyway, he goes over to get a paper towel from the container on the wall, and it’s empty. For some reason B&N has gotten rid of their paper towels and gone all hand dryer all the time, forgetting that customers still have to actually, you know, open the door by grabbing the knob with our hands, which is a dicey proposition every single time (see above: guys not washing their hands).

(Side note: Target does this the right way. Instead of having to pull open their restroom doors when you leave the restroom, their doors push out, so you never have to touch it with your hands. More stores should do this.)

So I’m there finishing up washing my hands when I hear the guy go for the paper towels and he sighs when he doesn’t see any. Just then I feel…something hit my neck. It all happened so quickly that I don’t know if I was feeling his breath from the heavy sigh, if he shook his hands to dry them and I got a little splash of that, or if he actually touched by necked for some bizarre reason. It was very light, and I’m going to go with one of the first two choices because the last choice isn’t even something I want to think about. I looked at him in the mirror as I shut off the faucet but he never looked at me, he just dried his hands with the dryer and left.

And how was your weekend?

One thought on “Monday, July 11, 2011

Add your thoughts:

