Dang

arresteddev1

At the supermarket. Two kids, late teens, walk by me carrying a bunch of stuff. Looks like they’re having a BBQ. Their conversation:

First kid: “Do we need pickles?”
Second kid: “Nah.”
First kid: “Dude, bread and butter pickles are so DANG.”

Dang? That’s a thing now?

I know, I know, that makes me sound like I’m an old man. But really? Every generation and location has its terms (in my part of the country we say “wicked” and “der,” and in the 80s we said “rad” a lot), but this is a new one on me. I guess it threw me because people have used the word “dang” for years, just not in this way. It’s something we say when we don’t want to say “damn” (or “darn”). This is the first time I’ve ever heard it used as…I guess it would be an adjective? I can’t imagine describing something as “so damn.”

In other news, the new season of Arrested Development was released over the weekend! You probably didn’t hear about it. Netflix kept it under wraps, a big secret, and when they released all 15 episodes on Sunday it was a surprise to everyone online and no one on Twitter talked about it at all.

I have no desire to binge-watch all 15 episodes, even though I love the show deeply. I’ve seen critics live tweeting about the episodes and also reviewing the episodes as quick as possible at their sites. I’ve seen phrases like “grinding through the episodes” used, like this is a good thing. If you’re using those words to describe the act of reviewing a TV show (or a film or a book or an album or anything else) you’re not only doing it wrong I think it’s also sort of destroying the art of reviewing. Of course, this is the way of the web. Faster, faster, SEO! Kill, kill! (As a side note, I also hate that people are tweeting spoilers and quotes from the show. I mean, I hate when people cry “spoiler alert,” but come on. This to me seems too unnecessary. You don’t have to prove to us how quick you can get things up, before anyone else, and how hip you are that you’re watching the new episodes. That’s the only reason why critics will tweet stuff like that, and it’s one of the sad things about Twitter).

Maybe I’m old school, but whatever happened to, you know, watching one episode a week of a show and, well, actually enjoying it? Wouldn’t it be better to watch the new episodes of AD once a week, especially since you probably love the show and don’t want it to be over all in one day? Maybe we should savour instead of scarf down? How can you possible enjoy them – let alone review them – if you’re watching them all in a row, trying to get through them as quick as possible, like they’re just products going by on a conveyor belt? It’s not a chore, it’s entertainment (at least it’s supposed to be). In less than a day everyone has an opinion about the entire season of AD, about “what went wrong,” the “good and the bad,” a complete analysis of everything.

I don’t know, if I were a creator/writer/producer I would hate for my show to be experienced this way.

By the way, the first issue of The Letter will be out in mid-June, a summer launch. Subscribe today! It’s only a buck a month. And I promise you it will be unbelievably dang.

One thought on “Dang

Add your thoughts:

