It’s not peanut butter and jelly

It occurs to me that a lot of readers might not know what that “PBJ” button is in the menu at the top of the page. Sure, you could click on it and find out, but if you don’t your first guess might be that it has something to do with peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. Now, I have nothing against peanut butter and jelly sandwiches (one of the world’s most perfect meals), but it actually stands for Professor Barnhardt’s Journal.

PBJ is the magazine/blog I started in 2002. It’s a pop culture site where you’ll find interviews, essays, book excerpts, old ads and commercials, comics, fiction, links to this and that. I don’t update it every single day – it’s not that type of site, it’s now more of a companion section of this page – but I do update it regularly. Just this morning I put up a “Random Links” roundup of interesting things I’ve found on my web travels recently, with links to stories about the death of Jean Stapleton, an excerpt from Stephen King’s new novel, a piece about a teen who doesn’t know how to address or mail a snail mail letter, and a recipe for Lemon-Blueberry Pretzel Cheesecake Squares. And in other recent posts I’ve had color video from NYC in 1939, a mash-up of “Stayin’ Alive” and “The Wall” that’s very clever, and an original essay from the late Roger Ebert. In other words, a little something for everybody. There’s even a blog roll on the side where I list some of my favorite sites, and you can see when those sites have new posts too.

What I’m trying to say is, if you wanted to bookmark it and visit it regularly, I wouldn’t try to stop you.

(Oh, and if you are looking for a page of peanut butter and jelly recipes, there’s always this one.)

Add your thoughts:

