Love and thanks

The other day I was at the convenience store down the street buying a bunch of the caffeinated drinks that help me get through another day of staring at a computer screen and typing.

After paying for the drinks I told the cashier I didn’t need a bag (several glass bottles thrown into a thin plastic bag is a recipe for disaster – trust me on this). I scooped up the bottles into both hands and under one arm and headed for the door. As I approached the exit I noticed a man talking on his cell phone, holding the door open 1/3 of the way. Now, he wasn’t opening it for me and he wasn’t coming into the store yet, he was just so entranced by the phone call that he sort of just stopped 1/3 of the way through the process of coming into the store. He was sort of in limbo, clueless and preoccupied, like a lot of people whose cell is attached to their hand/ear 24/7.

He sees me coming and opens the door a little wider. I’m not sure if he did it because he saw the bottles in my hand and wanted to help or if he simply remembered that he was holding on to the door and had to open it up more to get inside and oh! here’s a guy with things in his hand so I might as well let him go by first. But I didn’t want to assume anything and I wanted to thank him for opening the door. Here’s how the conversation went:

Guy: I love you.
Me: Thanks.

I suppose I should back up a bit and tell you that he was saying “I love you” to the girlfriend/wife he was talking to on the phone, and the reason I said “thanks” was because he was opening the door for me. It didn’t immediately register to me that he had said those words. I was already prepping my “thanks” as he said them. It was just one of those situations where the timing was so perfect that it made for a sitcom-like joke. I think I heard a laugh track and the Seinfeld bass music playing.

I don’t know if he caught it or not and I didn’t acknowledge it. But as I walked home I laughed to myself.

One thought on “Love and thanks

Add your thoughts:

