Saturday night’s alright for fighting (and cutting and pasting)

I don’t know what you did this weekend, but I spent all day Saturday (and part of the night) transferring files.

I transferred all of the remaining files from the old PBJ site, most from the early-mid 2000s. Because the old site didn’t have any tools to do this smoothly and efficiently, I had to cut and paste many, many pages by hand. And of course when you cut and paste from one site/program to another, the formatting is never, ever right. The spacing is all screwed up, you lose the bold or italics that some words had (or words that weren’t bold or italic suddenly appear that way), and you get weird letters/characters in the text for some reason. So I had to fix/edit all of the pages too. That was tedious fun! But I like that I don’t have to go back to that old web site anymore. I had it since the 90s. I think it was the second web site I ever had. It just feels good to not have to worry about going back to an old site and remembering yet another username and how the site works.

Got done around 9pm (the whole thing took around 8 hours), and then…the power went out. I didn’t have to light any candles though. This is 2013 so I just basked in the glow of the laptop. I was about to light a candle (it’s the time of year for that pine scent anyway) when the power came back, about an hour later. Just in time for House of Frankenstein on Me-TV, though maybe that would have been better with the lights off.

Anyway, lots of older stuff up at PBJ you might not have read, including many special theme issues. Check the archives from 2003-2005.

Add your thoughts:

