New York vs. Chicago: Begun the pizza war has

I wasn’t going to weigh in on the New York pizza vs. Chicago pizza feud that ignited on The Daily Show recently. I’m a guy so it’s in my DNA to like most pizza (and The Three Stooges), but I decided to because, well, they’re both wrong.

Boston’s pizza is better.*

For the record, the Chicago-style of pizza in the video above isn’t really “deep dish,” at least not in the way that most people think of it. The Chicago pizza in the video comes very close to stuffed pizza, which is a different thing (and where the hell is the cheese on top??), thick and crusty. For most people, deep-dish pizza is just like regular pizza you get everywhere, only…thicker. Chicago-style is a whole different thing (though it still looks damn good to me – hey, if Tina Fey loves it I’m willing to give it a shot).

Jon Stewart is wrong about the skillet thing. I worked in a pizza place for a few years and we used pizza pans. I know, I know, New York pizzerias put their pizzas straight on the hearth and it’s more “real” that way, like it was made in Italy itself by a guy in a floppy white hat and teleported to America. Well, a lot of pizza is made in a pan, Jon, even pizza in New York, and a lot of pizza is made without a pan, in New York, Boston and everywhere else. I’m sure there are New York-style pizzas I’d love and Chicago-style I’d love. Heck, one of the best pizzas I ever had was in Hawaii, at Moose McGillicuddy’s. No, it didn’t have pineapple or macadamia nuts or edible flowers on it, it was just a regular pizza. It wasn’t really thin and it wasn’t deep-dish, it was your run-of-the-mill pizza thickness, and it was delicious.

I don’t get the whole “folding a pizza” thing though. New Yorkers seem to love that their pizza has this feature and seem to think that’s one of the main reasons why New York pizza is superior. When I get a pizza like that my first reaction is “hey, this is undercooked” or “oh, God, there’s way too much sauce and cheese on this!” Whether it’s a thick or thin, a pizza has to be sturdy, people!

Last night Stewart tried to make peace with The Windy City, and had a king of Chicago pizza as his guest. Watch Stewart’s reaction when presented with (gasp!) a knife and fork:

*I’m not even sure if there is a Boston-style pizza. I just say this because, hey, I love pizza.

Add your thoughts:

