Columbus Day

This weekend I was watching the news and the meteorologists were giving the Columbus Day forecast. They were calling it a “travel forecast,” for the trips your families are going to make on Columbus Day. This morning I was watching The Today Show and they had a couple of cooks on, giving recipes and tips “for your Columbus Day feast.”

Question: when did Columbus Day become the new Christmas, where we pack the family into the car and go visit relatives and eat a big meal? Is this some trend I’ve somehow missed?

I’d write more but I have to get to the mall. National Sandwich Day is only a few weeks away and I don’t have any shopping done.

Add your thoughts:

