Right here, right now

A MacBook. A full cup of hot tea. A Westclox travel alarm clock I use as my regular desk clock. A coffee table because I don’t have a desk. Four remote controls. A doctor’s bill. A discount offer from The New Yorker. A Filofax open to today. A Uni-Ball 307 gel pen. TV on mute. A loud truck roaring past my front window. Self-stick stamps. Two Mad Men soundtrack CDs I need to add to iTunes. Books by Nora Ephron, Raymond Chandler, and Peggy Noonan. Narrowing down the ideas I want to pitch to my editors. A lamp across the room I need to turn on. Thoughts on what to have for dinner tonight, and a crisp October wind coming in through an open door.

Add your thoughts:

