Power

Is there a more pleasing moment in one’s life than when the power comes back on after being out?

Of course there is. Probably a hundred or so. But it is very pleasing. When the power goes out, you really don’t know what happened or how long it’s going to be out. It could be out for 5 minutes or 2 days. And you’re sitting there with your candles lit and your emergency lanterns, maybe reading a book or writing something, counting the minutes as they go by, worrying you’ll have to discard all of the groceries you bought today if the power is out for too long.

My power has gone out twice this week. The first time it was for just under an hour. Tonight it came back on after 2 hours and 10 minutes. I can get through snowstorms and Nor’Easters and hurricanes without the lights even flickering once. But when there’s a sunny, 50 degree day with hardly any wind, the power goes out. This week, it goes out twice.

But I love that moment when it comes back on. You don’t expect it, and it makes you say – sometimes to yourself, sometimes out loud – THANK GOD. THINGS ARE BACK TO NORMAL. The lights shine again, the printer makes a noise, and all of the clocks start flashing. You have to go around the house and set all of those clocks again and reset timers and wait for the cable channels to load. That’s a bit of a pain (again, twice in one week), but it’s worth it if you can get online again, go to the bathroom without bringing a candle with you like you’re Ebenezer Scrooge, and you can microwave some Hot Pockets.

The Letter is coming back next week, I swear. Working on it right now.

3 thoughts on “Power

  1. I guess I’m weird – I always feel vaguely disappointed when it comes back on. My parents always made power outages seem like a fun game when we were kids, and I find that even now I still get a little thrill when the power goes out. I like how it forces us out of our routine, and the novelty of reading by candlelight and cooking on the wood stove. (I should note, though, I’ve never lost it for more than a day or two – never long enough for it to become truly scary or dangerous.)

    1. I know what you mean, and I do like the quiet when the power goes out and the changes it brings. It’s just that I hate not knowing how long it’s going to last (plus everything is electric here). And I had just bought milk earlier, heh.

Add your thoughts:

