Random Thoughts

It’s starting to get warmer. The screen door is going in, the windows will soon be opened, the birds will be singing and I’ll be wearing shorts. God I hate it.

We don’t have to agree on everything, but can we at least agree to stop using the word “webinar?”

If you’re talking about something that happened in 2004, you can’t use the phrase “back in the day.”

Sleepy Hollow was renewed by Fox today. I still have the second half of last season on my DVR but now I’m not going to watch it, considering what they did in the season finale. Why would any fans watch it next season?

It always surprises me that people are surprised when they find out that Twitter isn’t a good place for debate.

You know what the world doesn’t need and probably don’t even really exist? Social media experts.

“We don’t want to speculate…” – what news anchors on cable news say right before they speculate

Sometimes I wonder if I don’t like new bands because I”m getting old, then I realize that it’s because I have good taste in music.

The world can be divided into two groups of people: those who still wear watches and those who use their phones to tell time.

Have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “Random Thoughts

  1. Bob, you’ll be glad you’ve got shorts when it gets hot, and the humidity kicks in, I’m sure of it. As long as they don’t wake you up or keep you from sleeping, the birds should be fine too. I want you to read the new ‘Birds’ feature in the new issue of the POST, you’ll like it.

    ‘Webinar’ is goofy, I’d have to agree. The phrase “back in the day” bothers me for the reason you mentioned, but also because it sounds wrong. “Back in my day” sounds better and is more traditional. For example a grandmother in the 1960’s or ’70s might say “Back in my day a girl wouldn’t be seen in public in a skirt that short, no nice girl anyway! You march yourself back upstairs and change into one just above the knee young lady, and don’t come down again until you do!”

    2004 doesn’t lend itself to that phrase anyhow, because it’s just part of the long generic present we’ve been in since about ’94 anyway!

    I never watched Sleepy Hollow on Fox. From what you stated, I don’t think I’d want to either. I’m disappointed but not surprised the unwatchably bad ‘Hawaii 5-0’ was renewed yet again. The only thing it has in common with the 1968-’80 series is the name and a really cut down version of the famous theme song.

    You’re not getting old, you just have good taste in music. There’s an L.A.-based band that I really like called The Chris Price Band. I’ve seen them several times with my on-off girlfriend and friends since 2013 and they’re great. We’re talking L.A. nightclubs like ‘The Mint’ or ‘The Roxy’ where you can meet the band one on one after the set. These guys were born in the ’80s!

    I love them because they have their own unique sound, BUT have a little Beatles and ELO flavor to them as well. I also know the members of ‘Strange Days’ another L.A.-based band that’s a Door’s tribute band. The latter doesn’t count in the same way as no music is new the way it is with the former. I’ll send you some links on both when I get home.

    1. Sleepy Hollow was a fantastic show but then…well, I won’t spoil anything but they did something stupid and inexcusable in the recent season finale so it’s not even worth watching anymore.

Add your thoughts:

