Locked In

It hit me the other night, around 1:30am.

There’s a moment when summer just “locks in,” when it’s not simply “oh, it’s summer but the temperatures are still bearable and it’s more spring-like, and you might even need a jacket on some days.” It’s that moment when you realize the humidity is starting to affect you, and you know you’re not going to close the windows until Labor Day (or later) comes around. That happened a couple of nights ago. I was tossing and turning because of the humidity, staring across the room, wondering if I should get up and get out my fan. I didn’t and eventually went to sleep but I’m digging out that fan this weekend.

I’m also sending out The Letter this weekend. THIS IS MY VOW TO YOU. I have envelopes and stamps and everything. I finished writing it this morning and I’ll mail them on Saturday. Again, I thank you for your patience.

Have a great Fourth.

One thought on “Locked In

  1. Bob, I hope you did get out the fan as it makes a world of difference. Just make sure you have it blowing off to the side for the residual air flow which should be enough to keep you cool. A small fan is all you need. The low hum of it will help you fall and stay asleep.

    As for 4th of July, it’s just become another stressful ‘holiday’ where everything is on high alert, and am glad to be back at work today. Can’t anything be simple and fun in this country anymore?!

Add your thoughts:

