20 Years!

This month marks the 20th anniversary of this site.

20 years! That means it’s older than Google, older than the iPod, older than the word “blog” itself. We called them online journals or homepages back then. This was way before social networking, clickbait, and autoplay videos screwed everything up. I went online via TIAC (The Internet Access Company) and my phone line was constantly tied up. AOL ruled the web in 1996 (thanks to those “10 Free Hours!” discs we all got in the mail), Friends was still on, and Everybody Loves Raymond hadn’t even started yet. “Macarena” was the number one song, most people didn’t have cell phones, and I had a lot more hair.

How long is 20 years? When I started this site, “content” was still called “writing.”

Every year or two I post something to tell newcomers who I am and what I’m working on. I write a weekly column for The Saturday Evening Post (every Friday morning) and I contribute to Esquire and other publications and sites. I created the pop culture mag/blog Professor Barnhardt’s Journal in 2002 and in 2003 I published Book, with Words and Pages, a collection of essays and short humor pieces. You can read it here for free. I’m currently working on another book and other projects. You can find out more about me here.

I’m not on Facebook or Twitter. I consider this my HQ on the web and I update it all the time. If you’d like to contact me you can send me an e-mail or leave a comment on a post. You can sign up to get notified when I update the site (enter your e-mail in the box down there on the right). I also send out a handwritten or typed letter via snail mail (the old-fashioned way) every month, in an envelope with a stamp and everything! If you’d like to subscribe the details are here.

And now, a flashback:

Even in the 90s that was embarrassing.

Surf’s up! See you on the net!

4 thoughts on “20 Years!

  1. Congratulations on the 20th anniversary of this site. I wish I’d known about it back then instead of only fairly recently. America is so much more messed up now than it was then, that you’ve got an endless supply of material to do columns on.

    The ‘Macarena’ suited the times in its stupidity. I remember seeing Al and Tipper Gore dancing to it on TV. It was right around the time of the Atlanta Olympics. Not sure if Billary was with them or not for that episode of Presidential degradation.

    I watched enough of the Kid’s Guide video here. Yes, it’s embarrassing, but there’s way more now that to be made fun of in 20 years. Of course, with everyone being in one stupor or another with tech devices ’round the clock, it won’t even be noticed. That’s the upside of a never-ending-generic-present with auto design, films, music and fashion staying pretty much the same year after year ad nauseum.

    16 years seems VERY long no thanks to the ‘Survivor’ TV series which debuted in May 2000, now going into it’s 33rd season as one example. I turned 43 that month, yet feel my whole life has been in the utterly draining 2000-present even though it’s less than 1/4 of it.

  2. Congrats! Here’s to 20 more.

    BTW, I don’t think Al Gore did the Macarena at the DNC. He did this bit where he just stood there while the Macarena played. A jab at how he was supposedly a stiff. That was him doing the dance! Inset Wolfgang Ranier THAT’S THE JOKE gif here.

    I remember this because I was covering the convention for a news service, and our cartoonist – Jack Ohman – had done a six-panel editorial cartoon of Al Gore Doing the Macarena, with Gore immobile in each panel. When he saw Gore do the same thing that night on national TV, he swore mightily, because now he had to do another cartoon.

    I’ve really started to miss the 90s. Ah, the things we had the luxury to worry about.

    Anyway, congrats again on your double-decade mark. It’s a small, select club.😉

Add your thoughts:

