It’s not delivery, it’s destruction

I’ve wanted a desk for a long time. I’ve been using my coffee table as a desk for…10 years? 20? It’s been a while. I wanted a normal place to write again so I ordered a nice big folding table to use as a desk.

I had it delivered overnight. It was supposed to be here on Monday but for some reason it got “delayed” while it was on its way and didn’t come until Tuesday. Now I know why: they needed time to throw it off a speeding truck.

That’s really the only explanation. This wasn’t just “slightly damaged during shipping,” this was total destruction. The side of the tabletop was crushed in like someone had taken a baseball bat to it. The bottom of the table top was full of scratches and had a giant section where the laminate was completely torn off. The metal hinges and legs? I tried to fold down one of the legs and everything fell off and hit the floor.

I’m pretty sure they took it out of the box and then threw it out of the truck as it was speeding down the highway. It bounced around for a few seconds and was then run over by a 2005 Toyota Tercel (red). They then stopped the truck, put the table back in the box, taped it up, and then delivered it to my front door.

I got a refund.

One thought on “It’s not delivery, it’s destruction

  1. Getting the refund is extremely important, of course, but this company owes you more than that. There’s the mental, psychological and emotional cruelty you had to endure here as well. I would take this to an attorney where it wouldn’t cost you anything. You’d get your portion of the settlement and the attorneys (naturally) would get the rest. Yes, I’m saying they need and should be sued for what they did.

    If you don’t wish to do that, may I suggest a scathing review on Yelp at the very least?

Add your thoughts:

