Fire and rain

I’ve been wondering why Billy Joel hasn’t updated “We Didn’t Start The Fire.” It’s been, what, 30 years?

I was going to write an epic Election ’16 update to the song but all I could come up with quickly was the ending.

Donald Trump, Twitter rants
Tony Weiner, without pants
Billy Bush
Gone away
He’s no longer on Today!!!!

Eh, that’s all I got.

Cold, raw and rainy today. This is not a complaint. Since I’m not a construction worker, a mailman, or homeless, why should I get irritated or depressed that it’s cold, raw, and rainy? This morning I put the winter pane in the front door, I have a cup of tea in front of me, and I’m listening to the rain hit the windows. No roaring fire but I do have electric heat.

The Letter is coming. I had hoped to have it out before Halloween but it will have to be a Thanksgiving Letter instead, out the middle of November. Happy Halloween anyway.

I haven’t gotten a trick-or-treater in years so I guess I’ll have to eat all this candy myself.

One thought on “Fire and rain

  1. Bob, you’ve got your Fall weather, no sweating with the heat or having to wear shorts. I didn’t have any kids coming around for candy either. It helps to leave the porch light off. My favorite candy is Red Vines. It’s low in sugar, yet a nice sweet treat. I get mine at the Dollar Tree.

    You’ve got some great continuation lines of that ’89 Billy Joel time travel classic. Seriously! Billy Bush wouldn’t have been on ‘Today’ or anything else if he didn’t have connections to THE Bush family. He’s rich of course, a condition I’m more than willing to have.

Add your thoughts:

