Holiday Mode

Over the weekend I bookmarked a bunch of articles about the election I’ve been meaning to read. I just deleted every single one.

That thinkpiece on why Clinton lost? It’s fantastic and I agree! That analysis of why Trump won? You’re so smart, and I agree with that too! The argument you made on that cable news panel show, the one with all those other panelists? You made some great points!

Thinking about and talking about this election is sooooooo 2016.

I’m sick and tired of the whole thing. It’s supposed to be the most wonderful time of the year, not the most irritating.

I’ve put myself into holiday mode. Some years you get into the Thanksgiving/Christmas spirit quickly and easily, other years it has to be forced on you. This year I’m making a conscious effort to put myself into holiday mode. There’s a certain cruelty foisted upon us by the political gods by having a presidential election right before the holidays. But that doesn’t mean you have to let it infest and infect your head, your heart, your soul. If you feel like celebrating what happened, there’s plenty of time for that (at least four years). If you feel like fighting, there’s time for that too. Why would you want to ruin your life with politics? (Note: This is also something I ask every day of the year.)

You’ve got your love to keep you warm. You don’t need retweets. When Nancy Wilson asks “What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve?” the answer should never, ever be “reading Nate Silver’s post-election analysis and what it means for 2020.”

An election is an important thing, sure. But are you going to let it affect everything else right now? Are you not going to buy a gift for someone this year because they disagreed with you? Do you refuse to watch the Macy’s parade because you don’t want to deal with people who voted for someone you didn’t? Will your fill your kid’s stocking with coal because of what happened in the rust belt? Are your Christmas gifts going to be addressed “TO: That Person I Thought I Knew But Now I Hate.” FROM: “I’m So Disappointed In You?”

If you want to obsess over the election for the next several weeks, be my guest. Argue with your family, read that big feature in the newsweekly, watch pundits yell at each other on cable news channels, share that funny political GIF everyone’s talking about, spend hours blocking and muting everyone you disagree with on social media, and watch reruns of John King’s Magic Wall breakdown of how every county voted on an endless loop. Me, I’ll be over here, drinking a warm alcoholic beverage, listening to Dean Martin, writing out my Christmas cards, doing everything I can to make spirits bright.

One thought on “Holiday Mode

  1. Bob, you’ve done a great job at getting past the whole political thing, as have I. My POST ‘News’ comments only touched on it minimally. One thing I still do complain about is 95-100 degree heat in mid-November; I’m entitled, I am.

    I may watch some of the Macy’s Parade, but it’s filled with “singers” and “music” I really detest (like Beiber and Beyonce) but will definitely watch or DVR The National Dog Show with John O’Hurley that immediately follows. Another of the few programs I watch on NBC.

    That evening I have Thanksgiving dinner at my on-again girlfriend’s sister’s house where her Mom will likely bring up my skinny dipping incident at the pool at her house when she wasn’t supposed to be home; and Helen caught me getting out of the pool to put my trunks back on. As I tried to put them on, I noticed her, both legs went into one side, and I fell back into the deep end!

    It was 4th of July, and she was supposed to be at the movies with two of her friends (also around 80). I didn’t expect her to come home through the side gate, let alone 2 hours early! It’s been thrown in my face each time I’ve seen her since! Definitely do a post-Thanksgiving column. I’m pretty certain I’ll have some embarrassing stuff to report back.

Add your thoughts:

