Happy New Year!

All the Christmas candy is gone from the supermarket already.

They do this every year. A few days before Christmas they clear the shelves of the Santa-shaped chocolates and peppermint bark to make room for the Valentine’s Day candy. That’s right, it’s not even January yet the shelves are already filled with candy hearts, boxes of chocolate decorated with red bows, and lovey-dovey stuffed animals with candy attached to their paws.

By February 11, all of that Valentine’s Day candy will be gone, replaced with whatever they sell for St. Patrick’s Day. Something green I suppose.

Have a great and safe New Year’s Eve. I’m staying in so I don’t break my quarter century- long streak of staying in on New Year’s Eve.

Here’s to 2017.

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. You’re right about everything you said. The good thing is that after Mother’s Day, everything is just red, white and blue for Memorial Day and Fourth of July. By Labor Day however, it’s pre-mature Halloween everything; which gets more grotesquely out of control every year. The POST did a feature on this in 2015 I believe.

    I went to a New Year’s Eve party at my friend’s house a couple of miles away. I got there at 8:30 with the idea of leaving by 10:30, to have time to wind down and get to sleep by midnight—even if (frankly) the only thing I planned to do on New Year’s Day was to sleep all day anyhow!

    Cold weather makes me just want to sleep, and I don’t get to give into it very often. Anyway, I lost track of the time (completely my fault) and turned around when I heard the TV go on, to the sight and sound of Ryan Seacrest (who I can’t stand), looked at my watch and realized it was 11:45! I did NOT want to do the countdown thing anyway, but especially not with that show and the “singers” on it. Unfortunately I had to make a fairly awkward exit because it was too close to midnight. I did it anyway; screw it. Note to self: treat December 31st like it’s August 31st from now on!

Add your thoughts:

