One Of Those Days

Maybe I should have just stayed in bed.

Everything seemed a little…”off” today. I had this overwhelming feeling that I couldn’t catch up to anything or get things settled – no matter what it was – so I never quite felt comfortable, like there was this “thing” making me uneasy and off-kilter, an invisible saboteur making sure I couldn’t do anything. Maybe my biorhythms are off.

There’s a word you don’t hear anymore, “biorhythms.” Is that still a thing? It certainly was in the late 70s. It was a scientific (*cough*) way of figuring out your life and how things were going to go for you, based on various things like your mental state and your emotions and cycles and some mathematical formula. Or something. I recall a lot of numbers and wavy lines.

I also remember going to one of the department stores – it may have been Zayre or perhaps King’s, one of the chains – and buying a baseball game in a box based on biorhythms. I was so excited because I was obsessed with baseball at the time and this whole biorhythm thing sounded so fascinating! I couldn’t wait to get home to play with this new, expensive game. (This may have been it but I’m not sure.)

I think I opened it once. I never even played it. It was confusing and based on stats and math and I hated math, even as a geeky, bookworm-ish baseball fan. It certainly wasn’t “fun.” I went back to Scrabble and my Aurora Movie Monsters models (but never jigsaw puzzles – I never had the patience for jigsaw puzzles). There were several games – if you can call them games – based on biorhythms, including computer games. Like the one in the above pic, where it looks like the oldest brother from Eight is Enough is playing tennis with young Roseanne Barr.

Now I’ll stop talking about biorhythms because I can never remember how to spell it.

But things were just odd today. I dropped my laundry on a part of the floor that happened to be dirty, seconds after taking the clothes out of the dryer. I missed the UPS guy by a few seconds. I turned the stove on and checked it ten minutes later and realized I actually hadn’t turned it on after all. I spilled food on my jeans, which means I have to wash them tomorrow (since I have to redo my laundry anyway…). A check I was expecting didn’t come. Oh, and a drop of boiling water somehow splashed up from my tea kettle and landed on my eyeball. This is actually the second time it has happened to me in the past few years, so I don’t know whether to be embarrassed or simply intrigued (what, exactly, are the odds that someone will splash hot water in their eye – the same eye – while making tea…twice?). Recently I got some sugar in that very same eye. I should just go ahead and add some milk and a tea bag to the eye and complete things.

Have I earned a gin & tonic tonight?

Yes. Yes I have.

 

One thought on “One Of Those Days

  1. To be truthful with you Bob, I’d forgotten all about ‘biorhythms’ until this feature. It kind of paralled the biofeedback and transcendental meditation “craze” of the mid-late ’70s. As far as your seriously terrible day, I’m not sure what was at play. Mercury in retrograde was from 4/9 to 5/3/17, but this was after that.

    It may have just been ‘one of those days’ where it’s just one thing after the other. How much is a man supposed to take in a single day though? After you complete a task, you don’t want to have to do it all over again, like the laundry because it got dirty again, just seconds later. Then you had the aggravation of JUST missing the UPS guy, the expected check not arriving, then the jeans requiring washing.

    All of that (and it’s bad) still can’t compare with that hot water getting splashed onto your eyeball! And you were just making yourself a cup of tea to relax from the day’s disasters otherwise, when THIS happens! I know you got sugar in your eye earlier this year. I don’t know what the odds of it happening again are. I think very low, but you may want to wear some light tinted sunglasses while making the tea as a precaution, and keeping the tea kettle at arms length. I hope your eye’s okay!

Add your thoughts:

