A Fistful of Dollars

I went to the convenience store up the street (I could probably say “down the street” but up seems more positive in some way?) and bought a few things. When the clerk gave me my change it was all one dollar bills, maybe 8 or 9 of them. When he handed them to me he said “That’s for when you go to the strip club tonight.”

My first reaction was, how did this guy know I was going to a strip club tonight? Kidding! My first reaction was to look around me to see who else was there and what they thought of the joke. Guy in his 30s. No reaction at all.

Warmer today. A day that said “summer is coming, time to put the screen door in and buy bug spray.” Of course, we had a day like this a couple of weeks ago, when we thought the seasonal switch had been turned on, and then this weekend it was rainy and in the 40s and I had to turn the heat on again, so who knows if this will last. May is a weird month (though not as weird as April).

The next Letter will be out the last week of this weird month, I promise. In fact, if I don’t get it in the mail by then I’ll send you nine dollars. All in ones.

2 thoughts on “A Fistful of Dollars

  1. I’d have to agree Bob, up does seem more positive, doesn’t it. Not sure how or why this nosy clerk thought you were going to the strip club that particular evening or not. It’s neither insulting nor complimentary, but does lean toward the latter. Still, it’s one more thing to add to your already long list of peculiar store occurrences. The guy in his 30s (I’m sure) was texting or interacting with a device; what else?!

    On the weather front, it’s sounds like your weather’s been a lot like mine going back and forth. I had to have my portable room heater on this past weekend too. Fortunately, I’ve never had to use the central heat; just the a/c.

    I like the RAID Ant & Roach killer with the fresh outdoor scent. Don’t forget a small bottle of WD-40 (or Dollar Tree generic) to help with the screen door screws. Also, ZEP brand professional strength calcium, lime & rust remover is great, especially for rust. You have to wear rubber gloves though, it’s strong stuff. You can get it at Home Depot. My screen door stays up all year long, but I have rust to remove from the bottom section myself, soon. One 32 oz. blue bottle will last several years.

Add your thoughts:

