Bride Of Five Things About Media and Technology Right Now

(I don’t know why I started giving these posts classic sci-fi/monster movie titles, but here we are. Here’s Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7, Part 8Part 9. and Part 10.)

1. I never like to hear about people in media being laid off, but it’s quite ironic that video killed MTV news staff.

2. Several journalists, tech people, and celebrities quitting social media lately. The latest is Bret Stephens at The New York Times, who has quit Twitter. But he says his assistant will tweet for him. Which is sort of like making a decision to stop driving your car because you don’t want to pollute the air but you have your chauffeur drive you around.

I’ll have you know that I was quitting social media long before it was hip.

3. I’m excited to see that Ron Howard is the new director of the Han Solo prequel movie, but I’ll be really disappointed if there isn’t a character named Opie-Wan-Kenobi.

4. I don’t know if this would make people trust the media more, but it couldn’t hurt: stop labeling everything “BREAKING NEWS.”

5. The Yahoo name will still be around in some form, but its days as an independent company are over. I still have fond memories of using the site 20 years ago and getting my first web e-mail address with them. And back when they had actual human beings doing search results and reviews, they said some nice things about Professor Barnhardt’s Journal.

One thought on “Bride Of Five Things About Media and Technology Right Now

  1. If Yahoo will be undergoing an overhaul in the semi near future, it would be nice if they restored the toolbar giving you the options of (at least) using different fonts and italics like they did before 2011. Ever since then the e-mails have looked really primitive and have lacked the pizzaz and personality I like to put in my e-mails. I haven’t been happy with Yahoo for years now, obviously.

    Worse still is the inability to forward an e-mail without it being all scrunched over to the left, without paragraph separation. On top of THAT, any enclosed links could not be forwarded. I doubt they’ll be any improvement, anymore than there EVER IS when anything is ever “bought out by somebody else”!

Add your thoughts:

